top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Boy on the other side of the world

Updated: Nov 6, 2022

Highly Commended, Live Canon Children's Poetry Competition 2021

 

You show me sand dollars and sea beans starfish, urchins, barnacles crusted limpets in dusted jars all sorts of turtle shells map, snapper, diamondback black sand and hag stones mermaids’ purses, cockles and clams shark teeth and gator heads snake skins pinned to picture frames because you don't know what to do with them cockroach husks and crab legs trinkets scooped from beaches. You've swept sand from the sockets of all kinds of skulls laid seaweed in sunshine until it shrivelled to brittle strips. I admire how you've arranged them so neatly - bottled feathers, lined up bones. You show me in pixels from so far away the things which define you offered with a smile a sparkling eye, so alive so alive among relics.


 



121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Skylark's First Flight - Commission

I was commissioned by Shout Out for the Arts Warwickshire (https://shoutoutforthearts.co.uk/) to write a poem on the theme of pathways. I wrote about skylarks. I have performed this poem at the Shout

Writing workshop @Brandon Marsh

I hosted my first nature writing workshop and walk at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, in conjunction with the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, open to 11-18 year olds. It was a brilliant experience. I was r

Stratford Library Sensory Offer Launch

Autism and sensory processing - this Warwickshire Young Poet Laureate engagement was very close to my heart. I was asked to read at Stratford- Upon-Avon Library at the launch of their sensory offer -

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page