top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Evensong

Updated: Aug 20, 2022

I was 12 when I wrote this, and was really pleased to win 'Best nature poem', Betjeman Poetry Prize 2019.


The path runs with a river

of cow parsley and campion.

White and pink,

Air heavy, honeysuckle sweet

draped over hogweed heads which push up

and up in fat green knuckles

to grasp at hawthorn

her clustered blossoms like

fragile snowflakes, slowly melting.

Blackbird sits amongst the buds.

Black against white.

Dappling the path

with his evensong

which unfurls in spirals and swirls

like the tendrils of vetch,

moving to the pulse of insect hearts

softened by dusty moth wings.

He sings for me and I listen

until the trees disappear into dusk.

Grey upon grey.

Until his song slips into silence

and we flow

safe in our secret

towards a new day.


Me reading Evensong in St Pancras station

139 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Skylark's First Flight - Commission

I was commissioned by Shout Out for the Arts Warwickshire (https://shoutoutforthearts.co.uk/) to write a poem on the theme of pathways. I wrote about skylarks. I have performed this poem at the Shout

Writing workshop @Brandon Marsh

I hosted my first nature writing workshop and walk at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, in conjunction with the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, open to 11-18 year olds. It was a brilliant experience. I was r

Stratford Library Sensory Offer Launch

Autism and sensory processing - this Warwickshire Young Poet Laureate engagement was very close to my heart. I was asked to read at Stratford- Upon-Avon Library at the launch of their sensory offer -

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page