top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Removing caterpillars from my Grandfather's cabbages

Updated: Aug 20, 2022

Winner of Writing East Midlands Solstice Prize for Young Writers 2021.


Removing caterpillars from my Grandfather’s cabbages


I detach them gently

green, hungry, velveteen -

they have only my heart now to eat


he said to burst them with my thumb

feel their trapped bodies split, rich juices spill

tarnishing fingertips


or throw them for the fish, see them writhe

break the surface, curl themselves into ammonite fists

pulsing as they slowly sink


but I imagine their wings, useless and creased underneath

I picture the day they rupture, break free

unfurl their origami folds, fly away


and I don’t want this dominion over death -

to condemn these unfledged hopes

to an end.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Skylark's First Flight - Commission

I was commissioned by Shout Out for the Arts Warwickshire (https://shoutoutforthearts.co.uk/) to write a poem on the theme of pathways. I wrote about skylarks. I have performed this poem at the Shout

Writing workshop @Brandon Marsh

I hosted my first nature writing workshop and walk at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, in conjunction with the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, open to 11-18 year olds. It was a brilliant experience. I was r

Stratford Library Sensory Offer Launch

Autism and sensory processing - this Warwickshire Young Poet Laureate engagement was very close to my heart. I was asked to read at Stratford- Upon-Avon Library at the launch of their sensory offer -

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page