top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Synaesthesia

Updated: Aug 17, 2022

This poem won Stratford Literary Festival's Young Poets' 11-16 competition 2022.


Synaesthesia

You say I’m 80% green

just like March, April, May

like C and E and A

and all the words they paint

like number 3 and number 8

and all the tastes they make.

I’m 80% green but 20% white -

a hilltop after brief snow

light breaking through the canopy

dead-nettles, snowdrops, cow parsley

the washed up swash of the sea.

You experience life beautifully.

Am I shades in-between -

tones which remind you of feelings, memories,

the places we've been?

You say you read in rainbows

that my name is a frosted leaf

that yours is pure yellow -

sunshine, celandines, daffodils.

You watch the garden fill with birdsong

an orange ripple of blackbird

a bright shaft of wren. You say you can

see the hum of a bee, that it tastes sweet, fizzy.

You tell me, but I cannot see.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Skylark's First Flight - Commission

I was commissioned by Shout Out for the Arts Warwickshire (https://shoutoutforthearts.co.uk/) to write a poem on the theme of pathways. I wrote about skylarks. I have performed this poem at the Shout

Writing workshop @Brandon Marsh

I hosted my first nature writing workshop and walk at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, in conjunction with the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, open to 11-18 year olds. It was a brilliant experience. I was r

Stratford Library Sensory Offer Launch

Autism and sensory processing - this Warwickshire Young Poet Laureate engagement was very close to my heart. I was asked to read at Stratford- Upon-Avon Library at the launch of their sensory offer -

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page