top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Young Wild Writer 2022 - full reading

Updated: Nov 6, 2022

I was absolutely delighted to win the Young Wild Writer Competition 2022, judged by author Gill Lewis and hosted by Hen Harrier Day (Wild Justice). I was given the amazing opportunity to read my piece out on stage at the festival to a (soaked) audience of roughly 500 people. It was an unforgettable experience, I loved every minute of it. It was also wonderful to meet Gill and the other inspirational speakers backstage. My piece was about my local jackdaw clan and their nightly journey to the woods in which they roost. Please see the full video of my reading below, which includes Gill's brilliant speech too. Excuse my mother's shaky filming - and when my paper blows away about halfway through!




Alternatively, you can read my piece on the Hen Harrier Day site - click here.



Thank you Hugh Warwick for this photo.

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Skylark's First Flight - Commission

I was commissioned by Shout Out for the Arts Warwickshire (https://shoutoutforthearts.co.uk/) to write a poem on the theme of pathways. I wrote about skylarks. I have performed this poem at the Shout

Writing workshop @Brandon Marsh

I hosted my first nature writing workshop and walk at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, in conjunction with the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, open to 11-18 year olds. It was a brilliant experience. I was r

Stratford Library Sensory Offer Launch

Autism and sensory processing - this Warwickshire Young Poet Laureate engagement was very close to my heart. I was asked to read at Stratford- Upon-Avon Library at the launch of their sensory offer -

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page