top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Bog roll buffet

In the depths of winter, it's crucial that we provide for those who call our gardens home. So during a dreary afternoon, why not entertain yourself with a homemade 'ornamental' feeder? There is no correct way to follow these instructions; the birds will be grateful for whatever you create! Nature doesn't care about presentation - even if that presentation is a soggy, peanut-buttered bog roll on a twig.



Spreading the butter

First up, you'll need some peanut butter, a toilet roll tube and a spreading utensil (I suggest using butter you're not planning on eating, as putting the toilet-rolled knife back in it doesn't sound very appetising). Eagerly dollop and smack the butter over the cardboard, being careful to reach all the way round - prepare for a mess on the worktop. Be generous!





Choose a topping

Next, choose your topping - this could consist of seeds, oats, chopped nuts, mealworms or the lot! Personally, I got very excited at this part, and rather than carefully placing each oat like a mosaic, I chose to throw them in the right direction and hope they stuck.


You might find that your oaty sequins refuse to stick. If so, either roll them into the butter or add an extra coating to act as a sealant.



Hanging

It was at this point that I realised I hadn't planned how I was actually going to hang the thing. Some might attempt to skewer a hole in the side using scissors or a kebab stick, whilst others may goo up the hole punch. I, on the other hand, used my genius to recognise that the tube's shape is perfect for slotting over a branch...




Success!

After successfully positioning mine gracefully in Dad's fig tree ("well that lowers the tone"), I spent a good while with my eyes glued to the window. Lo and behold, a brave little blue tit alighted atop my toilet roll! So there you go, there is no right or wrong with this. It gives us something to do on a rather drab day, and it could be a lifeline for cold and hungry creatures.

Please share your photos with me!



Thank you mother, for being there with the camera and providing moral support, and thank you Chloe (Instagram: @the_young_birder) for giving me the idea.



71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page