top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Hunt

Jackdaw Gifts - full reading

Updated: Nov 1, 2023

My poem, Jackdaw Gifts, was awarded First Place in Guernsey Literary Festival's international poetry competition - Poems on the Move (Young People's Category), judged by Michael Symmons Roberts. It's about behaviour I observed in my rescue jackdaw Crowley - who has since been successfully released. It was fantastic to attend the event this year.


To read the 2022 winners, click here.


Photo: Gsy Lit Fest

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Skylark's First Flight - Commission

I was commissioned by Shout Out for the Arts Warwickshire (https://shoutoutforthearts.co.uk/) to write a poem on the theme of pathways. I wrote about skylarks. I have performed this poem at the Shout

Writing workshop @Brandon Marsh

I hosted my first nature writing workshop and walk at Brandon Marsh Nature Reserve, in conjunction with the Warwickshire Wildlife Trust, open to 11-18 year olds. It was a brilliant experience. I was r

Stratford Library Sensory Offer Launch

Autism and sensory processing - this Warwickshire Young Poet Laureate engagement was very close to my heart. I was asked to read at Stratford- Upon-Avon Library at the launch of their sensory offer -

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page